Sunday Morning with Martins Baumanis

avatars-000037861351-sxka72-t500x500Martins Bumanis shares some of his experiences in music at Brunel University. You’ll find links to videos and music and how to keep up with Martins below.

Coming from a very academic piano and choral music background in Riga, Latvia, I went to Brunel University to explore the possibilities of music in its broadest sense. Being interested in improvisation I quickly found the openness of Brunel and its lecturers very exciting. Still studying classical piano, my drive for fresh and new music started right in my 1st year, when my tutor Sarah Kingdom Nicolls encouraged me to let out my creativity. I improvised a bridge between Gershwin’s Prelude no.1 and M. A. Turnage’s Tune for Toru at my first concert here and from then on I felt that experimenting and improvising is my thing. Since then, I have played numerous improvisations with my piano and synth at Brunel’s Arts@Artaud cross-art evenings, in the form of a live film soundtrack with electronics, an accompaniment for a self-made film, a dialogue between poetry and piano etc.

In my 3rd year, I organised a curator/performer group for an Arts@Artaud event, conducting and composing an original piece with live narration, video, saxophone, voice, synth and piano, based on M. Bulgakov’s Master and Margarita among other original short films, loop-pedal songs, drama acts.
When Brunel introduced a Performance Bursary, I auditioned for it and received extra piano lessons from a renowned pianist Rolf Hind, who, along with Sarah expanded my knowledge about extended piano techniques, and since then have performed several pieces by George Crumb, a pioneer of inside piano playing.”
In my 3rd year, I organised a curator/performer group for an Arts@Artaud event, conducting and composing an original piece with live narration, video, saxophone, voice, synth and piano, based on M. Bulgakov’s Master and Margarita among other original short films, loop-pedal songs, drama acts.

When Brunel introduced a Performance Bursary, I auditioned for it and received extra piano lessons from a renowned pianist Rolf Hind, who, along with Sarah expanded my knowledge about extended piano techniques, and since then have performed several pieces by George Crumb, a pioneer of inside piano playing.

 
The contacts with my tutors have given me performance opportunities in several arts galleries, for example Hidde van Seggelen gallery, where I played Cage and Duchamp. Also, having played in New Noise ensemble in Brunel, the improvisation ensemble led by Peter Wiegold, I was asked to play in London Jazz Festival at Club Inegales and I am now composing a couple of pieces for the club’s house band Notes Inegales. Just a few weeks ago, Jennifer Walshe asked me to write a piece for the the Spor Festival in Denmark. I have to audition for a Masters degree in Leadership in a couple of weeks… the present is very tense but very rewarding and I hope to keep it that way.
I am already bringing the phenomenal experience Brunel has given me back to Latvia, where, at the start of this year, I led a Cross-genre improvised music workshop, introducing the techniques of controlled group improvisation and trying to encourage cross-genre cooperation in Riga, the European Capital of Culture 2014, against a background of very accomplished but very conventional Classical music. Brunel has given me the courage to change the world.
So, what do you think?

